Gina Adam

gina adam

Gina Adam

Assistant Professor


Email: Gina Adam
Office Phone: 202-994-7175
SEH 5880 | Office hours: R: 3:30 - 5:30 pm

Professor Adam’s lab develops novel hardware foundations at the intersection of materials, devices, and circuits to enable new ways of computing. Her research interests are focused on emerging nanoelectronic and nanoelectromechanical devices and their integration in beyond von Neumann systems such as computation-in-memory and neuromorphic platforms.  Her group innovates at the design, simulation and nanofabrication level with a vision of system-level experimental demonstrations. Recent work has been investigating two-terminal non-volatile memory devices called memristors that have an electrical behavior similar to that of an artificial synapse and can be used for both data storage and processing.

  • Ph.D., Electrical and Computer Engineering, University of California, Santa Barbara
  • M.S., Electrical and Computer Engineering, University of California, Santa Barbara
  • M.A., Teaching and Learning, University of California, Santa Barbara
  • B.S., Applied Electronics, University Politehnica of Bucharest, Romania
  • Electronic devices
  • Nanotechnologies and nanofabrication
  • Neuromorphic computing
  • H. Nili, G. C. Adam, B. Hoskins, M. Mahmoodi, F. Merrikh Bayat, M. Prezioso, J. Kim, O. Kavehei, D. Strukov “Programmable Hardware-Intrinsic Security Primitives Enabled by Analogue State and Nonlinear Conductance Variations in Integrated Memristors”, Nature Electronics, 1(3), 197, 2018. [link]
  • B.D. Hoskins, G. C. Adam, E. Strelcov, N. Zhitenev, A. Kolmakov, D.B. Strukov, J.J. McClelland “Stateful characterization of resistive switching TiO2 with electron beam induced currents”, Nature Communications, 8, 1972, 2017. [link]
  • Müller, G. Konstantinidis, I. Giangu, G. C. Adam, A. Stefanescu, A. Stavrinidis, G. Stavrinidis, A. Kostopoulos, G. Boldeiu, A. Dinescu “ GaN membrane supported SAW pressure sensors with embedded temperature sensing capabilities”, IEEE Sensors Journal, 17 (22), 7383-7393, 2017. [link]
  • M. Dragoman, M. Aldrigo, G. C. Adam “Phased antenna arrays based on non-volatile resistive switches”, IET Microwaves, Antennas & Propagation, 11(8), 1169-1173, 2017.
  • Chakrabarti, M.A. Lastras-Montaño, G. C. Adam, M. Prezioso, B. Hoskins, M. Payvand, A. Madhavan, A. Ghofrani, L. Theogarajan, K-T. Cheng, D.B. Strukov “A multiply-add engine with monolithically integrated 3D memristor crossbar/CMOS hybrid circuit”, Scientific Reports, 7, 42429, 2017. [link]
  • G. C. Adam, H. Nili, J. Kim, B. D. Hoskins, O. Kavehei, D.B. Strukov “Utilizing I-V Non-Linearity and Analog State Variations in ReRAM-Based Security Primitives”, 47th ESSDERC, Leuven, Belgium, 2017. [link]
  • G. C. Adam, B.D. Hoskins, M. Prezioso, F. Merrikh-Bayat, B. Chakrabarti, D.B. Strukov “Three-Dimensional Memristor Crossbars for Analog and Neuromorphic Computing Applications”, IEEE Transactions on Electron Devices, 64 (1), 312-318, 2017. [link]
  • G. C. Adam, B.D. Hoskins, M. Prezioso, F. Merrikh-Bayat, B. Chakrabarti, D.B. Strukov. "Highly-Uniform Multi-Layer ReRAM Crossbar Circuits", 46th ESSDERC, Lausanne, Switzerland, 2016. [link]
  • G. C. Adam, B.D. Hoskins, M. Prezioso, D.B. Strukov “Optimized Stateful Material Implication Logic for 3D Data Manipulation”, Nano Research, 9 (3914), 2016. [link]
  • M. Prezioso, F. Merrikh-Bayat, B.D. Hoskins, G. C. Adam, K.K. Likharev, and D.B. Strukov, "Training and operation of an integrated neuromorphic network based on metal-oxide memristors", Nature, 521, pp. 61-64, May 2015. [link]


  • European Commission Marie Sklodowska Curie Fellowship – 2016 – 2018
  • UCSB Graduate Division Professional Development Award 2015
  • UCSB ECE Departmental Summer Dissertation Fellowship 2015
  • P.E.O. International Peace Scholarship 2013-2014
  • Lockheed Martin Scholarship (Society for Women Engineers) 2013
  • International Fulbright Science and Technology Award 2010 - 2013
  • Mirzayan Science and Technology Policy Fellowship 2012
  • Roberto Rocca Award for Student Excellence in Engineering 2009 - 2010
  • NanoInitiative Munich Student Research Award 2009
  • General Electric Foundation Scholar – Leaders Award 2008 - 2011